Fabric Bundle Love

What is a fabric bundle anyway? We have a few fabric suppliers that can somehow convince us that the limited space on our shelves should not be reflective of the amount of fabric that we should purchase… This puts us in the position to have to move a lot of fabrics quickly!  Fabric Bundles are pre-cut fabrics, typically 3 yard quantities,  that are pre-packaged and priced to move quickly.  I think these fabrics are frequently “misunderstood”!  Their quality equals or exceeds some of the finest fabrics that we carry. Their styles vary and if I were shopping at Farmhouse, I’d look there first.

Here is our most recent seersucker fabric bundle: FB#19-SummerGreenSeersucker.
32117 green seer lg
This is a beautiful summer green and white stripe seersucker (cotton with a touch of lycra) that is perfect for all sorts of projects.  It arrived with about 100 other fabrics, and despite its beauty and the fact that I really like to see fabrics like this on the shelves of our store a little longer, it has to move.  Because I really liked this piece, I started thinking of ways to use it.
My little “ginger” looks really cute in this color & she and her sister look so precious in matching outfits!
6616 seer 2 large.jpg

 

I really wanted to challenge myself with a fabric bundle and see what I could make from this pre-cut 2 yard piece. So I started with the “Janie Belle Jumper” by A Wink and a Nod Patterns.  I added a beautiful  white bias ruffle & sewed a sweet Swiss daisy trim on the attached bias to accent each ruffle.

I had just a little fabric left to work with, so started on the “sassy little one’s” outfit!  This time I needed to measure my fabric and see if it was enough for Kari Mecca’s “Melody’s Mermaid” pattern, which is becoming a summer staple!  I laid out my fabric and it was a success –  just enough fabric left over for a cute summer romper.  To coordinate outfits for these sweet girls, I also used the white bias ruffle on the bottom of the romper and added the daisy Swiss trim for that “touch of sweetness”.

 

4417 green seer kari 1 large

This is a cotton seersucker with a touch of lycra, so I pre-washed & dried it before starting my project.  I can say it washes beautifully! It has such a soft, comfortable hand before AND after washing!  I wanted to try a couple more patterns with a scrap of this, so I  cut a top from Kwik Sew #3169, and made a cute little vintage shorts pattern with turned-up cuff.  (True confessions here:  I started with a 3-yard piece of the seersucker, as most of our bundles have 3 yards included….).  Since the last remaining piece was just a tad shorter than the top pattern, I pieced together a strip of the fabric from my scraps and added a ruffle.  Perfect!

4417 green seer 1 large  Env 3169.indd

Try these beautiful fabric bundles to challenge yourself to a ‘pattern-off’ and see how many outfits you can get from a discounted, pre-cut bundle!

 

Leave a Reply

